Welcome Christmas!

by John Birge


A perennial broadcast favorite featuring the Minneapolis-based ensemble, VocalEssence. Recognized internationally as one of America's premier choral arts organizations, VocalEssence is led by the visionary Philip Brunelle.


Daniel Kantor - Night of Silence

Trad arr. Ola Gjeilo - The Holly and the Ivy

Mykola Leontovich - Carol of the Bells

Conrad Susa - Fum, Fum, Fum

James Pierpont - Jingle Bells (arr. Moore)

John Rutter - What Sweeter Music

David Biedenbender - This Night (World Premiere)

Dominick Argento - The Masque of Angels: Sanctus

Gian Carlo Menotti - Shepherd's Dance

John Gardner - Tomw Shall Be My Dancing Day

Franz Biebl - Ave Maria

Sheena Phillips - The Christmas Bird (World Premiere)

Mark Sirett - Thou Shalt Know Him

Adolphe Adam - O Holy Night

Trad arr. Wilberg - I Saw Three Ships

Larger view
Philip Brunelle conducting VocalEssence for 'Welcome Christmas' (Courtesy the artist)


  • (feature audio)
Return to APM Holidays ›